One of the all-time winningest college basketball coaches. Held the most wins until his record was broken by North Carolina's Dean Smith. His overall Kentucky record was 879-190 (.822) and included four NCAA national championships (1948, 1949, 1951, and 1958). He also won the NIT title in 1946 and coached Wildcat teams to 27 SEC titles.

Rupp's teams appeared in 20 NCAA tournaments and won 5 Sugar Bowl Tournament championships.

He was four-time National Coach of the Year and SEC Coach of the Year. He was also named Coach of the Century by the Columbus, OH, Touchdown Club.

Co-coached the 1948 U.S. Olympic team to a gold medal; five members of the Olympic team were from the University of Kentucky. He was the NABC president in 1970 and was a member of the NCAA basketball rules committee.

Rupp is enshrined in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, MA, and was also inducted into the Kentucky Hall of Fame and the Helms Foundation Hall of Fame.

Rupp was known as the "Baron of the Bluegrass" for his penchant for recruiting players from the hills of Kentucky. The Adolf F. Rupp/UK Basketball Museum in Lexington, KY, pays tribute to Kentucky basketball, with special emphasis on the Rupp era. Rupp Arena on the UK campus stands as a monument for the coach who made Kentucky basketball synonymous with greatness.

Coaching milestones:
1st win: 67-19 over Georgetown (Dec. 18, 1930)
100th win: 46-21 over Georgetown (Dec. 9, 1936)
200th win: 43-38 over Cincinnati (Jan. 9, 1943)
300th win: 71-34 over Xavier (Jan. 25, 1947)
400th win: 61-55 over Ole Miss (Feb. 4, 1950)
500th win: 63-54 over La Salle (Dec. 22, 1954)
600th win: 108-55 over Georgia (Jan. 29, 1959)
700th win: 103-83 over Georgia (Feb. 3, 1964)
800th win: 104-68 over Ole Miss (Feb. 8, 1969)